New MTA board members quietly confirmed

Late Monday night, several new MTA board members were confirmed by the New York State Senate.

The new members include Carl Weisbrod (nominated by Mayor Bill de Blasio), Scott Rechler (nominated by Governor Cuomo), and Randy Gluckman (nominated by Metro-North commuter council). Some board members’ terms have also been extended for them to serve longer: Andrew Albert, Fernando Ferrer, Susan G. Metzger and Polly Trottenberg.

The candidates were confirmed with little fanfare, with some not even being announced to the public before being put to a vote.

The Senate appeared to be rushing to vote on the nominees, since the year’s legislative session would be ending in two days.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s